Annual Meeting 2017

Annual Meeting 2017

June 13, 2017

That Dalton Gang performs on stage.On a warm, windy evening members of Sac Osage Electric Cooperative met for the annual meeting of the members. Doors opened before 5:00 pm and 393 registered members and their guests enjoyed pulled pork sandwiches catered by Sugerfoot's BBQ out of Osceola. A fantastic bluegrass group, That Dalton Gang, entertained the crowd while they finished their dinner and Schwann's ice cream sandwiches.  

The evening was marked by the arrival of the Touchstone Energy hot air balloon. Unfortunately, the strong gusty winds kept it grounded. The crew was on hand to answer questions and let members get a close-up view of the apparatus.

Touchstone Energy Balloon grounded for the eveningThe business meeting opened at 6:30 with a welcome by board president, Neale Johnson. A group of former and current El Dorado Springs High school choir members sang the National Anthem led by Mr. Ron Alambaugh.  The cooperative attorney, Chris Hoberock announced a quorum was present and conducted the business meeting. Ray Huesemann (District 4), Gary Ashby (District 5), and Gene Brockus (District 6) were reelected to serve the members in their respective districts. Members also approved a bylaw change that would exclude anyone convicted felon from serving on the board of directors. The vote was 302 for and 18 against. 

Barry Hart of the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives spoke to our members about the strong cooperative system in Missouri. Jim Davis, General Manager of Sac Osage Electric Cooperative gave the Manager's report before prizes were drawn near the end of the meeting. Shortly before the business meeting a drawing was held for the youngsters in attendance. Eight bikes and two gift cards were given to kids zero to fourteen. All registered members also received an extension cord and a thermal cup as a thank you for attending.